The Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists

Women in Critical Care Steering Committee Welcomes New Members

Dr. Teresa MulaikalDr. Teresa Mulaikal, MD, FASE, is a cardiothoracic and critical care anesthesiologist, practicing at Columbia University in New York. She also serves as the Core Residency Program Director, directing the education of 104 residents annually. In this role, she has been a part of the transformative journey of young physicians in training. She finds it both inspiring and challenging. She wishes to join Women in Critical Care (WICC) as she believes WICC is a group of talented clinicians and leaders who provide outstanding patient care, as well as promote the work of the wonderful women who surround them.


Dr. Tess RussellTess Russell, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, is a Texas transplant to New York City. She moved to New York in 2005 to complete Anesthesiology training, and in 2014, she left practice to pursue additional training in Critical Care Medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital. Currently at Columbia University, she serves as the co-director of the Physician Well-Being Initiative in the Department of Anesthesiology, the faculty well-being lead for Columbia University, and is the Medical Director of the Anesthesia Pre-operative Clinic. Her academic interests are centered on physician flourishing. She was voted Physician of the Year at New-York Presbyterian Hospital in 2020, CTICU Attending of the Year, ICU Resident Teacher of the Year and Kathryn Cozine Resident Teacher of the Year. Dr. Russell lives in New York City with her husband and three children. She wishes to join Women in Critical Care (WICC) as she believes WICC is a team where women can celebrate and collaborate with each other.


May Hua, MD, MS
Co-Chair, SOCCA Women in Critical Care Steering Committee
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Columbia University
New York, New York
Shahla Siddiqui, MD, MSc, FCCM
Co-Chair, SOCCA Women in Critical Care Steering Committee
Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts